kword: an image > ascii converter

audrey 60%.png

I have been tooling around with typewriter “ASCII art” style image reproduction for some time, well, since I acquired my typewriter.

I found several problems with existing image to ASCII generators for my application (reproducing digital images on a typewriter):

Is a picture worth a 1000 word ASCII image? #

I decided to write an ASCII image generator of my own. It runs in the browser using <canvas> and I call it kword.

DSC04014.jpg
Bottom left vs. center: kword optimization at work!

Features: #

To-do: #

Try it #

kword - live demo

kword - source code

More screenshots / generated images #

dithering works.png
1-bit Floyd-Steinberg dithering

obama.png
Works on Presidents

 
43
Kudos
 
43
Kudos

Now read this

The “loudness war” is not actually about loudness

I try not to talk about the “loudness war”, because it tends to feed the trolls. Let’s remember that “war” here refers to competitive mastering practices, not an argument between analog and digital lovers! I recently came across an... Continue →